About Ground Zero Cancer

I’ve been reading a lot of articles lately about GZ workers and increased incidences of Cancer.  Specifically blood cancers.  I spent a month at Ground Zero after the attacks, and in 2009, I was diagnosed with Plasma Cell Myeloma (Multiple Myeloma).  At first, I just thought I was one of the weird statistics who get rare diseases for “unexplained reasons” (my doctors’ words).  But, did you know, that most people diagnosed with this type of cancer are over 60?  I was 36.  Did you know, also, that there is an increase in this type of cancer in people under 50 – and that many of them also worked at Ground Zero?

I am becoming more convinced that this is not “unexplained”.  I have no idea where to even report my diagnosis so that I can be counted among the surviving workers who now have a rare cancer.  So, I have decided to start this blog as a place for people or family members of workers to communicate and share resources, and stories.  Fighting cancer is hard enough.  Please feel free to share, comment, provide resources both for getting the help we deserve and any treatments or assistance for treatment you may have.

This is not about money, for me.  It’s about recognition, and the support that I feel I am owed.  I should be able to go to my oncologist for follow-up and treatment, and currently, as I am unemployed, I am unable to do that.  It’s not fair, and maybe if enough of us pop up we can do something about it.

Thank you,

Sue

2 Responses

  1. Sue, thanks for your blog. I think that the cancer from 9/11 is probably just beginning, and will eventually be demonstrably link for both workers and residents of both lower Manhattan and Brooklyn. I was exposed to a lot of dust in Sunset Park, where I was during the attack, and this year I was diagnosed with a form of brain cancer that is linked to asbestos exposure. Could be a coincidence. But… I feel like I wouldn’t be surprised if, in the next decade, a significant number of people in NY endure similar diagnoses.

    Best wishes to you.

    • Thank you for reading, Mary Jean. I am so sorry to hear of your diagnosis, and can understand the emotions and fear, as well as questions it brings up. God Bless you.
      Sue

Leave a Reply

