Day 0

Today was the day I got my stem cells back. It was rough, let me tell ya. I guess the stem cells are really pretty thick, and the preservative they keep them in can cause some pretty strange side effects. Guess I got most of them. Well, the nausea wasn’t too bad. But it really made my chest feel tight, like heart attack tight, and up into my neck. It just hurt. I felt like I couldn’t catch my breath. They had 3 small bags of cells to push in via a large syringe, so 9 syringes in all. Took around 30 minutes or so. Oh well, I sure am glad that is over with. Now I just get to look forward to crashing, then picking back up…

Pushing the cells back in…

Not feeling that great at this moment.

But, it was over fairly quickly, and I have spent the rest of the day in recuperation mode (on my back with my eyes closed). I ate a Hungry Man salisbury steak dinner (comfort food from childhood). Decided I better eat all I can while I feel like it. Ok, then. The rest of my time here will be spent going to the clinic daily for blood draws to monitor my counts, and to provide me with any support I may need (blood transfusions, platelets, etc).

2 Responses

  1. Nice smile girl, you hang in there. We are keeping you in our prayers here in Los Angeles. You are a real trooper. Keep fighting, this too shall pass. Pray that you are cured of this disease. Big hugs. Xoxox

  2. Suzanne! You don’t look like you just had a day of yuckiness! (Except, for the record, the peruke look isn’t quite you.) You are kicking cancer’s ass!

Leave a Reply

