I’m Still Alive

I recently had a text conversation with an old friend. We used to stay in contact via The Facebook, but she quit the FB quite some time ago and we lost touch. At the end of our recent conversation, she said “I’m glad you’re still alive.” It was very honest, and very touching. And it made me realize that anyone who read this blog and didn’t know me in “the world” (or the FB) probably thought I stepped on a rainbow a long time ago. It also made me realize how badly I have neglected this blog, and by extension, myself. I’ve been suffering lately, emotionally. Writing has always been an outlet for me. Free therapy. A way to keep things sorted, or get them sorted. Keep my feet on the ground. And in neglecting the space here, I have – in a way – added to my suffering. Or, at least, I’ve erected a barrier to my health. Well, no more. I’m still alive, man. And I’ve a little course correcting (so to speak) to do. Short and sweet, this first post back. I won’t let the overwhelming feeling of being away so long (and the “why’s” and “what’s been happening’s” and so forth) keep me away anymore. I need this space much, much more than I realized.

Leave a Reply

